Resources for Fulbright Commissions, Foundations and Posts

Program Administration Abroad

The U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs administers the Program under policy guidelines established by the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board (FFSB) with the assistance of binational commissions and foundations in 49 countries, U.S. embassies in more than 100 other countries and cooperating agencies in the United States.

Binational commissions and foundations develop priorities for the program, including the numbers and categories of grants.  In a country without a commission or foundation, the Public Affairs Section of the U.S. Embassy develops and supervises the Fulbright Program.  Currently, 50 commissions are active, most of which are funded jointly by the United States and the respective government.  Each commission or foundation has a board, composed of Americans and citizens of the participating nation.